The Art of Wellness


The Art of Wellness

The United States is on the bottom of the list of all civilized countries when it comes to health care.  We have the highest incidence of diabetes, obesity, heart disease, cancer, and even infant mortality.  So why is this?  What’s missing from the equation that results in our less then laudable statistics?  Well there are three factors that immediately come to mind:

1)  We have to contend with a medical system that is a huge business thriving on disease and illness – pharmaceutical companies, hospitals, makers of medical equipment, and, in many cases, doctors

2)  There is no preventive medicine in this country

3)  For the most part, healthcare practitioners do not treat the causation of illness.  Instead they give out band-aids in the form of medications that only treat symptoms

One of my goals is to try and encourage practitioners to take an innovative approach to treating their patients.  This is not to be confused with alternative medicine.  For example, if a woman has a migraine headache with her period, the traditional approach is to give her a medication for this.  However, the ‘innovative’ approach is to use progesterone cream to block estrogen and eliminate the migraine headache within minutes.

To my way of thinking, getting people better is very rewarding – not only for the patient, but for the practitioner as well.  I feel that there is an art to getting people well that involves the following:

a)      Hormonal balance

b)      Ascertain and treat the underlying cause of the problems

c)       Eliminate unnecessary medications

d)      Nutritional counseling for the individual’s own metabolism

e)      Nutritional supplements to prevent, as well as to treat, certain illnesses

Incorporating these five elements is how I define the ‘art of wellness’.  There are many ‘Wellness Centers’ as well as Executive Wellness Programs that I suspect may not do as much as they could to achieve wellness in their patients.  I have written a manual, for those practitioners who might be interested, that teaches ‘wellness’ along with my own protocols for balancing hormones.

Medicine in this country will not progress until enough people get angry about how they are being treated.  To further enhance patient education, I have written “The Miracle of Bio-Identical Hormones”, as well as “Adrenaline Dominance”.  It can be obtained by going to my website: www.plattwellness.com or from Amazon.com.

For those of you who may be frustrated by your care and wish to be proactive, I am available for consults via phone or Skype or in person.  You can call my office: 760-836-3232, or e-mail us at questions@plattwellness.com.

About Platt Wellness

My entire professional life has been devoted to getting patients well. However, my approach to wellness has been considered outside the standard of care by experts for the medical review board. Their concern was that I treated the underlying cause of a patient’s problem and weaned them off their synthetic medications. Instead of changing my approach to wellness, I have surrendered my license but I still have my M.D. My board-certification in internal medicine was taken from me by the American Board of Internal Medicine for failure to do a pelvic exam on a woman I treated for stress incontinence. How does one fight the mentality of doctors inhabiting medical boards? The medical system is a huge business. Unfortunately, it is not the business of wellness; it thrives on disease and illness. It is not only drug companies, but also hospitals¸ people who make medical equipment, certain doctors, etc. This is why they do not allow preventive medicine in this country. The medical boards I came up against are there basically to enforce the business of medicine. I have always wanted to change health care in this country, but in order to do so the consumer has to be educated, as do doctors who wish to change their approach to medicine. Please read the information that will be forthcoming in future blogs and through my online webinars for both the general public and for M.D.'s , naturopaths and others in the medical/health field. I have written a manual for doctors based on my 20 plus years of experience in bio-identical hormone therapy. My book, "The Miracle of Bio-identical Hormones" has won four national book awards, and has a worldwide circulation. I am also concentrating on educating the public to the role of bio-identical hormones in overall health, not just for women but also for men and, in some cases, children. Balanced hormones are part of the key to wellness and play an important role in the overall mechanics of the body. Wishing you hormonal balance! Sincerely, Michael E. Platt, M.D.
This entry was posted in Hormonal Balance and Wellness and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.